Sunday, July 21, 2024

The original Rotary Club of Onehunga was formed in 1947 with the Rotary Club of One Tree Hill joining in 1979. In 2009 the two clubs amalgamated forming the Rotary Club of Onehunga One Tree Hill. In 2021 Epsom club members were welcomed in.

On 1st July 2022, the club was renamed to the Rotary Club of Maungakiekie to better reflect the widening community its members are serving.

Visitors are warmly welcome along with new Members. Contact the Club Secretary for details.


Jeanette Thorne (Club President)

Mb: 021 128 4493


Richard Ryan

Richard Ryan (Club Secretary)

Mb: 027 421 1379


Bruce-Murdoch (2)

Bruce Murdoch (Club Treasurer)

Mb: 021 363 811


Bill Appleton (Club Foundation Chair)

Mb: 022 327 1677


Paul Jenner

Paul Jenner (Club Membership Chair)

Mb: 021 295 4333


George Arulanantham (Club International Projects and Grants Chair)

Mb: 021 577351


Peter Mayow

Peter Mayow (Club Service Projects Chair)

Mb: 021 976 224


Noel Carey (Sergeant)

Mb: 0274 509 845


Tony Rayner (Club Public Image Chair)

Mb: 021 333 032



Since Rotary’s beginnings more than 110 years ago, the charity has grown throughout the world with more than 35,000 clubs being set up in 130 countries. There are approximately 1.2 million members from mixed ethnicities who meet together and believe in the same set of human values – ones that brings benefit to others in the community. In New Zealand, club communities are not limited to local suburbs but include our Pacific neighbours as well.

Rotary Club Presidents and Directors are are elected annually by members to ensure fresh ideas keep coming and where members are given the opportunity to take leadership responsibilities on a regular basis. These leadership rolls are transferred to the incumbents before the start of each Rotary Year during an Annual Changeover event. The Rotary year begins on the 1st July.

For organisational purposes, Rotary clubs throughout the world are divided into: Areas, Disticts and Zones.

Rotary Club of Maungakiekie’s location on the Rotary International map is: Area 7, District 9910, Zone 8.

Area 7: Maungakiekie, Hillsborough, Lynfield and Mount Roskill, Westhaven.

District 9910: (NZ) West Auckland, North Auckland, Northland; (Pacific) Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Norfolk Island.

Zone 8 Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands, Papua New Guinea.